The 29th Annual Lac St. Claire Fine Art Fair

 

In St. Clair Shores, residents spend a majority of the year anticipating the annual Lac St. Claire Fine Art Fair. Vendors from all over come to showcase their artwork to the large crowds that pass through over the course of the two days the event takes place. I have been a volunteer at the art fair for many years, and this year I had the privilege of volunteering as Miss St. Clair Shores.

What many people do not realize, is that a portion of the proceeds from the event benefits the Miss St. Clair Shores Scholarship Program.  My $2,100 scholarship was mad14324315_10210917761806502_8661981190611463471_oe possible because of the constant support the community has for the art fair every year. Considering this fact, I knew it was very important for me to represent the program, and showcase to the community what their money is funding.

As a volunteer, I spent a majority of my time passing out pamphlets and greeting people as they walked in. I was also able to help the children as they made crafts in the kids tent, and on the final day I helped with passing out awards to the vendors (after having been judged the previous day). One of my biggest responsibilities though, was creating a friendly environment for the people as they walked around. It is important for the people in attendance to feel welcomed. Providing a friendly atmosphere gives the art fair a better reputation in the community, and encourages people to want to come back for many years to come.

Unfortunately, the first day of the art fair was cloudy and rainy. Despite the poor weather conditions, there were still people who came to support the many different artists. That proves to show how much the community loves supporting their annual art fair; they have no problem sacrificing their good hair day to show the 85+ artists their appreciation for their work. I love living in a community that comes out to support one another no matter the conditions.

After volunteering at this event, I am going to make it my mission to attend as many community events as possible. What makes the city of St. Clair Shores so incredible, is the people who live in it and the people who want every event to be filled with love and excitement. Knowing how meaningful it was for me to see everyone come out to support the scholarship program, helps me realize the importance of supporting causes in the community that are important to other individuals. Volunteering at the art fair has left me filled with joy after seeing how incredible the community in St. Clair Shores truly is.

Community Service: 14 hours

9/17/16-9/18/16

Leave a Reply

