Halloween in the Park

Every year, the city of St. Clair Shores holds a Halloween in the Park for all the children in the town to attend. Businesses and organizations from all over the town come to set up a booth, promote their business/organization, and pass out candy to all the kids. This is an event that takes place all day, so it is important to come VERY stocked up on candy. The first hour of the event is only open to special needs children, so it gives them priority before the rest of the kids come in. After the first hour of the event, the next 4 hours in the park are jammed packed with kids in their finest costumes.

14938390_10211371087979373_4685996082437053996_nIn the park, I had the privilege of setting up a booth for the Miss St. Clair Shores Scholarship Program, and passing out candy as Miss St. Clair Shores. Nonstop, for five hours, I tended to all the kids that came to my booth. It was so much fun seeing all of the unique costumes, promoting the scholarship program, and of course handing out handfuls of candy.

Doing things like this brings me so much joy, because I remember how meaningful events like this were to me when I was younger. Seeing the excitement on all of the kids’ faces makes me reminisce about my childhood and how much I enjoyed it. What makes these events even better is doing them in a town that I love so much. The city of St. Clair Shores is one of my favorite places to be because of the family oriented community. I intend on going back from year to year to volunteer at this event because of my love for the community.

Community Service: 5 hours

10/30/16

 

Leave a Reply

