As a title holder in the Miss America Organization, appearances are always full of surprises. Many times, before an event, your responsibilities are unknown until you get there. It is important to be very versatile and able to adapt to any situation as a title holder. Attending this year’s city tree lighting, really put those skills to the test.

Miss St. Clair Shores is always in attendance at the city tree lighting from year to year, and her responsibilities usually include passing out hot cocoa and greeting everyone who walks in. Getting to greet with everyone is always very enjoyable. However, this year was a little different.

15252503_10211700853943316_1985510163572865770_oAbout a week before attending the event, the coordinator told me I would have a different responsibility this year. What kept me in suspense was that he would not tell me what that responsibility was going to be. When I got to the event, I was rushed to the stage and immediately given cue cards. It was at that moment I found out I was going to be the emcee for the event.

Even though I would have liked to be forewarned beforehand, I am incredibly grateful to have been given the opportunity. Being given opportunities like this is one of the many reasons why I love being a part of the Miss America Organization. Opportunities like this can be a great way to learn about what you hope to pursue in the future.

In addition, when I got off the stage, I had the opportunity to have a conversation with a St. Clair Shores city council member. Surprisingly enough, I found out that he works as an advertiser/marketer for a company in the area, and his daughter works in public relations for a car company. When I brought up the fact that I was thinking about studying integrative public relations, he said he would very willingly offer me an internship. I was astonished that this one event opened another door wide open for me.

Being involved in the Miss America Organization is not just about wearing a crown and looking pretty, it is a job that can lead to so many new opportunities for many years to come. It truly is a blessing being a title holder, because it opens so many doors for yourself that may have never been opened without the title.

Miss St. Clair Shores is only a one year committment, but the people you meet during the year can potentially be around for the rest of your life.

Leave a Reply

