16179750_10154420449124075_5338167259095300703_o

Central Michigan University offers a variety of programs on campus to help individuals develop their leadership style and discover who they are as a leader. I had the opportunity to participate in one of their day-long programs called the Spark Leadership Series. During this program, I was put in a small group with an upperclassman facilitator to enhance my leadership style. Throughout the day we listened to a variety of speakers giving us their perspective on leadership, learned about our personal leadership style, networked with the students at the event, and participated in a leadership initiative. At the end of the day I felt so much more confident in my own ability as a leader.

One of my favorite activities from the day was learning about the four different leadership styles. A person can either be direct, systematic, considerate, or spirited. After taking a test, I learned that I was a considerate leader. A considerate leader is someone who is a people pleaser, a person who shines in small group situations, someone who does not like to directly assert their views, and avoids offending the opinions of others at all costs. After discovering our leadership style, we were broken down into small groups with individuals who associated themselves with that same style. It was a great feeling to be surrounded by people who had the same personality as me. Being surrounded by people in the considerate category gave me more confidence in my leadership potential. Sometimes I worry that my personality is not cut out to be a leader, but seeing so many people like me gave me more confidence in my ability.

I am a strong believer in the idea that everything happens for a reason. I truly do believe I was meant to participate in this program. Since attending CMU, I have been very apprehensive about my potential as a leader. After realizing there is not just one type of personality that defines a leader, I am much more confident in my ability to be a leader. I will be able to use this mindset for the rest of my life, and it will allow myself to enter new things more willing to step outside of my comfort zone and lead. Believing you can do something is the first step towards being successful at it.

Leave a Reply

