As an incoming freshman, I was terrified of what my life at Central Michigan University was going to look like. Was I going to make new friends? Was I going to be overwhelmed with school work? Was I going to adapt well to the social aspect of college? Would I be able to handle the homesickness or would I end up transferring to another school? These were all questions I did not have the answer to when I entered college. Fortunately though, I had an incredible mentor who helped me adapt to life at Central with ease.

IMG_5288

In the Leadership Advancement Scholarship Program, every incoming freshman is paired with a mentor to help them transition to college life. My mentor, Lianna Riley, was the perfect match for me. I could not have asked for a better person to mentor me during my freshman year. She was exactly what I needed in order for CMU to feel like home.

In the beginning, Lianna was solely a mentor to me. She would offer me advice on my classes, my major, and what I should get involved in on campus. However, as time went by, our relationship developed into something more than that. Lianna soon became someone I genuinely enjoyed spending time with and felt as though I could confide in about anything. I would now consider Lianna to be one of my very good friends.

Commitment to being a mentor is what I admire the most about Lianna. From day one, she was always there for me and offered me advice whenever I needed it. She is also a very selfless person, always thinking of ways to help me grow. Lianna is everything a mentor should be; she has given me big shoes to fill as a mentor now myself

Lianna, thank you for encouraging me to believe I can conquer anything at Central Michigan University!

Leave a Reply

